Pelotonia // One Goal: End Cancer

I’ve decided to participate in an experience that raises funds for a great cause, and I need your help. Pelotonia is a cycling tour that will take place August 10th – 12th with one goal: curing cancer.  I will be riding the 25-mile route. My rider profile can be found here. Please consider donating $25 or $50 (or more if you can). Every dollar matters.

Pelotonia is a grassroots bike tour with one goal: to end cancer. More than 10,000 supporters are expected to be a part of Pelotonia 12 on August 10-12, 2012. The ride will span two days and will cover as many as 180 miles. In its first three years, Pelotonia has attracted over 8,300 riders from 38 states, over 2,800 volunteers, hundreds of thousands of donors and raised $25.4 million for cancer research. In 2011 alone, a record $13.1 million was raised. Because operational expenses are covered by Pelotonia funding partners, 100% of every dollar raised is donated directly to life-saving cancer research at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center-James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute. I am writing to ask you to help me raise funds for this incredible event. Large or small, every donation makes a difference.

We all know someone who has been affected by cancer. One of every two American men and one of every three American women will be diagnosed with cancer at some point in their lives. By supporting Pelotonia and me, you will help improve lives through innovative research with the ultimate goal of winning the war against cancer. I would love to have your support, as this is truly a unique opportunity to be a part of something special.

Like most riders, I ride for those in my life that have been touched by or taken by cancer. I am proud to say that I have joined Stefanie’s Team of Hope, proudly honoring the life of Stefanie Spielman who was a great warrior in the fight against cancer. Together this 100-member team raised over $250,000 during last year’s Pelotonia. We are just an ordinary group of people – friends, family, neighbors – but our combined desire to carry on Stefanie’s mission to find a cure led us to raise the most money of any non-corporate team.

When you follow the link below, you will find my personal rider profile and a simple and secure way to make any size donation you wish. Your donation is tax deductible. Not one penny of your donation is for me, my jersey, my team, or any of the rider support. 100% of every dollar raised is donated directly to life-saving cancer research.

Think of this as a donation not to me, or Pelotonia, but directly to The OSUCCC-James to fund cancer research. Please consider supporting my effort and this great cause. My rider profile can be found here.

Thanks for the support!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Nicastro