Why I’m Not Voting

vote-circle-slashI will not be voting in the 2016 Presidential Election. Spare me the rhetoric about losing my “right to complain” as a result of refraining to cast a vote. Not only is that laughably ironic and naive (free speech!) but it’s bullshit because my complaints are about oppression in this “free” country.

By casting a vote for what most people are considering the lesser of two evils, I’m still voting for evil. I’m still voting for oppression. Fuck. That. I refuse to actively participate in a system that blends my private desires with those of the masses. Why should any of us have decisions made for us if we are capable of making those decisions for ourselves? Just because that’s the way it’s been? Yeah, slavery was once the way it was, too. That didn’t make it right. Because I’m an American? Who cares! The only reason I’m not a rattlesnake is because my parents were not rattlesnakes. I take no pride in where I was born.

Democracy does not work. 10 minutes talking with your average voter should convince you of that. Voting is invasive, divisive and oppressive. This system is broken. We need to minimize taking decisions away from the people. These people are supposed to be free to do as they please so long as they do not negatively affect another. Why should we acquiesce when it’s not your place or mine to “vote” for pretty much everything that is put up for a vote. If you really want to make a difference, vote with your wallet. Don’t vote to attack the wallets of others.

About donniccolo

Logic. Common Sense. Open Minds. www.nicknicastro.com
This entry was posted in Common Sense, Finance, Miscellaneous, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I’m Not Voting

  1. Pingback: Tuesday, November 8, 2016: A Day To Be Discussed For Time Eternal | logical thinking in an illogical world

Leave a Reply

