Pelotonia 2014: Cancer Will Be Defeated In Our Lifetime

For the past 2 years I have been proud to call myself a participant in Pelotonia. 2014 will be my 3rd consecutive year riding in this grass-roots effort in Columbus (#Cbus) that brings together thousands of people from all over the world to unite in an effort to defeat cancer.

Pelotonia 2014 logo

The bike ride itself lasts just one weekend, but the battle against cancer rages on 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. I am convinced this is a battle we will win and one we will win in my lifetime. In order to do so, the men & women who are working toward finding a cure need to be properly funded. They already face plenty of obstacles (read: they are trying to cure cancer!) and the last thing they need is to fight a two front war – one vs the disease that steals our loved ones from us and another vs inadequate research funding.

With help from you, me and the thousands of other people who step up to ride, volunteer and donate, we can easily win the fundraising war. Funding research is step one. Step two is end cancer. Amazingly, because the Pelotonia sponsors cover all operating costs, 100% of every single dollar raised goes directly to research. 

So many of you have stepped up and donated in years past and I cannot thank you enough. If you can afford to do so, please consider donating again this year. Every dollar helps and no donation is too small. Like last year, I am committed to raising $1,250 and like last year, I want to crush that goal! Thanks to the generosity of my friends, family & a few internet strangers, we’ve raised over $3,000 during my first two rides, adding to the $61,000,000 total funds raised in just five years!

Click here to visit my rider profile or simply to donate to my ride. It’s hard to put into words the emotions I feel when I see how generous so many of you are. Even if you cannot make a donation, simply asking a friend, family member or co-worker to take a look may inspire them to ride, donate or volunteer!

Ride day 2013!

Ride day 2013!

My Peloton: Stephanie's Team of Hope

My Peloton: Stefanie’s Team of Hope

 

About donniccolo

Logic. Common Sense. Open Minds. www.nicknicastro.com
This entry was posted in Common Sense, Finance, Miscellaneous, Politics, Sports, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pelotonia 2014: Cancer Will Be Defeated In Our Lifetime

  1. Pingback: Photos From Pelotonia 2013 | logical thinking in an illogical world

  2. Pingback: New Year. New Goal. #Pelotonia2015 [2014 photos!] | logical thinking in an illogical world

Leave a Reply

